This project is read-only.

Cleaning up between requests

Mar 22, 2014 at 10:10 PM
Hi,

I want to use R.Net to handle requests from different users.
I know that R.Net does not support concurrency and this is ok for my scenario.
I will serialize the requests and execute them one by one.

My question is, how can I "isolate" each execution from previous\following executions?
I want to be able to clean up all state between requests, so that requests will not affect each other.

I noticed the REngine.CreateIsolatedEnvironment() method, which sounds very promising, but I can't find any documentation about it to understand if it can actually do what I need.

I am a beginner with R, so I don't understand the concept of environments very well and if they can help me with what I'm trying to achieve. If there is a better way to get isolation between requests, I'll be happy to learn about it.
Can workspaces help me with isolation?
I found some mentions about doing rm, closeAllConnections and detach for cleanups, but I'm not sure if this is enough...

Again, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Yoav.
Mar 23, 2014 at 11:01 AM
For someone calling oneself a beginner with R, you sound like you have put quite a bit of thought and research already actually. I would not bet I understand environments much more than you do if at all :-) , actually setting the variables in an isolated environment is something I may not even have thought of.

If you have the latitude to explore the branch named with my username I'd encourage you to do so. I have modified the API to enforce a singleton pattern and wipe the global environment between things like unit test runs; happy to clarify things on the go (as the documentation is not yet fully ready). I have not even looked at unloading packages, detaching stuff and so on so that's what I mean by you having given a fair bit of thought.