System Invalid Operation Exception - R.Net

Apr 3, 2014 at 2:26 PM
I am new to C# and R.Net
Running Windows7 64bit.
I am trying to call R.Net from Fidelity's WealthLab tool which allows you to create trading strategies using C#. I'd like to incorporate R's tool there.

I've written some code but do not understand why I am generating this error or what to do about it. I hope it is obvious and something simple for the people who read these discussions.

The code fails when I try to CreateInstance

Many thanks.
   public class MyStrategy :WealthScript
    {
        // instance of REngine
        private REngine _instance = null;

// public property (getter) for your REngine instance

public REngine Instance
        {
            get { return _instance; }
            set { _instance = value; }
        }

protected override void Execute()
        {
            // Put R in the PATH
            var oldPath = System.Environment.GetEnvironmentVariable("PATH");
            var rPath = System.Environment.Is64BitProcess ? @"C:\Program Files\R\R-3.0.3\bin\x64" : @"C:\Program Files\R\R-3.0.3\bin\i386";
            var newPath = string.Format("{0}{1}{2}", rPath, System.IO.Path.PathSeparator, oldPath);
            System.Environment.SetEnvironmentVariable("PATH", newPath);

// if REngine hasn't been instantiated yet (first run), create an instance
            if (this.Instance == null)
            {
                this.Instance = REngine.CreateInstance("RDotNet");
                this.Instance.Initialize(); // required since v1.5
            }

// .NET Framework array to R vector.
            NumericVector group1 = this.Instance.CreateNumericVector(new double[] { 30.02, 35.99, 30.11, 29.97, 30.01, 29.99 });
            this.Instance.SetSymbol("group1", group1);
            // Direct parsing from R script.
            NumericVector group2 = this.Instance.Evaluate("group2 <- c(29.89, 29.93, 37.72, 29.98, 30.02, 29.98)").AsNumeric();

// Test difference of means and get the P-value.